Bore Butter

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pmfinnegan2

Reaction score
Ok, I am fairly new to muzzle loading, so pardon me if I am naive. And please don?t bash me I am just asking why, just a curiosity thing.

I see a lot of people on here bashing the use of bore butter. I am not sure why. I just got a TC omega and it came with bore butter. It also came with a video where it shows how to take care of the barrel (cleaning and what not), and it recommended using bore butter. My way of thinking is it is a product made by TC and recommended by TC to use on their barrels that they supply a lifetime warranty on. Why would they recommend using this product if it was not good for the barrels that they would have to replace?

Just curious?interested in people?s opinion, not a bashing. Thanks.

I believe it also is to be COMPLETELY removed from the bore before shooting sabots - also per TC.

My guess is they have a lot of it. ;)

I talked with them up at TC years ago and they said not to use Bore Butter with Sabots or Conicals.

I've use it as a Patch Lube when shooting Patch and Ball.And at one time I used it to season barrel.But got to checking,found a bunch of negative.Decided it wasn't worth it taking a chance on messing up a barrel.

So I started cleaning my Barrel good and using a good Gun Oil like Remington.Check every couple months.Have no problems with any of my Guns.

oneshot

pmfinnegan2, I was thinking the same thing. I'm also new to ML. I just don't want to hurt my new encore. What to use?

My way of thinking is it is a product made by TC and recommended by TC to use on their barrels that they supply a lifetime warranty on. Why would they recommend using this product if it was not good for the barrels that they would have to replace?