Casual Target Bullet Recommendations

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr. Ed

Reaction score
Hi Forum

I'm a newbie to muzzle loading but have plenty of experience with weapons platforms and shooting from my military career. Given the plethora of muzzle loading bullets on the market and their sometimes very high pricing, I have questions for casual target shooting at 100 and 200 yards.

Information to consider-

I'll be using using a CVA Accura MR .50 caliber with a 25 inch barrel and 1-28 twist that I'll soon be purchasing. CVA says their bores are .500 and their tolerances are from .499 to .508. They 'recommend' to use .501 diameter bullets but that a .502 will safely work but be a little tight. They recommended not to go bigger than .503. My propellant of choice is Blackhorn 209 where I can 'tune' my load eventually. Velocity will probably be falling into the 1600-1900 FPS range.

Questions-

1. Can I use Mastercast (PA alloy bullet supplier) 330 grain .501 dia. RNFP with a brinnell hardness of 18 for casual target practice? Prices are roughly $45 for a 250 round box. Or any other properly sized lead alloy or copper plated bullet (Oregon Trail, Rainer, etc.) or will my velocity shred these things?

2. What is the best BC, most cost efficient target bullet out there?

3. Alloy lead versus pure lead, copper plated versus copper jacketed?

4. Copper plated (like Rainer) or copper belted (like Powerbelt) Big difference in price...

5.Flat, bevel, or concave bottom bullets?

6. When do you patch? Or is that only for round ball which really doesn't apply here...

Any and all recommendations/opinions/comments regarding casual target shooting out to 200 yards that is cost efficient yet effective, are most welcome!

R/

Mr. Ed
Asheville NC

100 gr load blackhorn and Barnes290 tez and clean with Hoppes9