Correct way to Swab?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwampFox

Reaction score
Hi,Guys what is yalls way of swabing when sighting in or just shooting for fun?
I always swab with GLASS PLUS on a dampen a patch ,then run it threw and the flip it over and dampen it again and run it threw.Then run a clean dry patch threw, then flip it over and run it threw again.

I have been reading all sorts of ways people have been doing it.
I have been doing it like this for many years,i am just wondering how some of yall have been doing it

Shooting for fun - just like Patrick.

Shooting for groups - two wet patches both sides, two dry patches both sides, load, light oil patch, shoot very very carefully.

I do it the same way for groups and hunting.

Before the first shot I do 3 wet and 3 dry after snapping 3 caps. My gun shoots clean or dirty the same way.

I use a 50/50 mix of windshield washer fluid and isopropyl alcohol. I lightly dampen a patch. Then working in short strokes of about 3-4 inches, work down the bore to the breech. After I pull that patch, I flip it over and do it all again. Then comes two dry patches. I save them for the next damp patch application. Then just load as normal.

cayuga said:
I use a 50/50 mix of windshield washer fluid and isopropyl alcohol. I lightly dampen a patch. Then working in short strokes of about 3-4 inches, work down the bore to the breech. After I pull that patch, I flip it over and do it all again. Then comes two dry patches. I save them for the next damp patch application. Then just load as normal.

I do the same. Learned it from him and works great.

Thanks guys for yalls input.I use to use the