CT 2016 Turkey Season is off to a good start...Opening Day

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattRaymond

Reaction score
Hello Gents,

So far so good in the turkey woods this spring.  Opening day was April 27th...my birthday...I took the day off from work and did my traditional opening day hunt with my buddy who taught me how to hunt turkeys.  He's a co-worker and a bit of a mentor, so our opening day hunts usually consist of him calling the shots and locating and calling the birds.  He's only a few years older than me and when we hunt together, I generally take the roll of "little brother" and go with the flow.  

I've been hunting turkeys since 2011, and over all have become pretty successful at it. I started notching my "LynchBox" for every bird I've taken with it....17 notches and counting.

So back to hunting...I pull tags in CT for both private and public land.  I like to keep my options open and that also allows me to harvest 5 birds total...2 Public, 3 private.  We started off on public land and had zero action at two locations.  My buddy had stuff to do mid morning so we split up around 7:30.  I took the day off, so planned on hunting as much as I could.  At the 3rd spot I checked, I ran into a loud mouthed hen that once I got her worked up, she didn't stop yelping, clucking, and cutting for about 30mins.  She walked in to about 20 feet from me.  I let her wander off and decided to switch spots...with all that racket...if there was a gobbler around, he would have come by just to shut her up!