Early Christmas

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RomanC

Reaction score
Hi, Christmas came early in Wisconsin and I am new to muzzleloading. I purchased 50 cal. CVA V2 Optima with Vortex and can't wait to test it. What do you suggest best combo for pellets and bullets? I will be hunting whitetails up to 150 yards mostly. Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_7513.jpeg
    IMG_7513.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 0
I'd go with loose powder, not pellets.
Blackhorn, Triple 7 or whatever you can get.
All kinds of bullets out there. My own Optima and Wolf seem to shoot accurately with the Hornady XTP'S in 240 grains.
Why not pellets?

I got my CVA from muzzle-loaders.com. They were very nice answering some of my questions because I am completely new to this. I love the look and feel of the rifle without ever taking a shot. Trying to learn on the run. I believe somewhere on their site or at CVA site it was suggested to go with White Hots pellets and Powerbelt bullets and with 777 primers. Has anyone tried this combo? I read a lot bad about Pyrodex pellets and also the penetration of Powerbelts. Some of you mentioned BH209 for propellant. Is there a reason why BH209?

Last edited:
Why not pellets?
For my budget, pellets are just too expensive, shot for shot compared to loose powder.
Plus you're limited on how much customization you can do, in terms of load development. For example, with pellets, it's either 1, 2 or 3 pellets.
Not much wiggle room.
One of my guns shoots best with 75 grains by volume of black powder.

It makes sense now. I thought maybe it had something to do with the way the loose powder burns vs. the pellets. I will try the loose powder. Does it burn "more dirty" than pellets?