Encore Pivot pins??

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tigman

Reaction score
Got a new Pro Hunter and ordered the Precision Rifle Pivot pin, but it's almost .002 smaller than the stock pin. Do they need to be tight to shoot well, such as Mike Bellm pins?? The TC rep at the local show this weekend says my stock pin is pretty tight, but dang I'm a machinist fabricator and I know better. It's got almost .0015 clearance. Just don't know which is more important on these guns!

Thanks

Mark

The factory pin is all you need... I have owned two Encores and now a Pro-Hunter, they all shot great with the factory pin. When accuracy problems arise it's a barrel problem not a pin problem. Good luck! :)

EvenT/C stock Encore pins can vary a few hundred thousands. The Mike Bellm 1X pin ($8.95) will solve 90% of the play in the frame hole. If not a 2X is available from MiKe Bellm.

Cecel Epps sells a locking pin because after sanding down the rabbit ears on the Encore/Pro hunter forearm a loose hinge pin will slide out of the frame hole always affecting accuracy. Cecel has only solved one issue with his locking pin. An oversized pin in a must to eliminate the vibrations at the front of the frame lock-up which effects accuracy. The hinge pin is the recoil lug of the T/C rifle.

This issue can best be equated to having loose screws in your scope mounts or a improperly set recoil lug in a bolt action rifle.

Mike Bellm is a "master" gunsmith who specializes in the T/C Encore rifle. Who do you believe??

Chocdog

The barrel to frame lock-up is solely based on the locking bolts, if they contact the frame correctly then you should have a tight and accurate Encore... hinge pins be darned!! :evil:

It is very important for the hinge pin to be tight! The Bellm pin solved 90% of my Encore problems. If the pin is tight it will not shift side to side.