First time poster with some questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello....First time poster here! I am new to muzzleloading and was looking for some sage advise. I just ordered a CVA Accura V2 and I also have coming a Nikon Prostaff P3 scope. I need some help on my loadout. I'm looking for recommendations for bullets, primer, also I will be going with pellets to begin with so thoughts on that. I know its a lot of trial and error but wanted to start in the right direction. I will be hunting white tail at probably a max of 200 yards if that helps. Also any tips for that particular rifle (i.e. cleaning etc). I appreciate any and all input. Its a new experience from my Remington .30-06 :)

While I don't play with inlines, in my experience, pellets aren't as accurate as loose powder. Work up your accuracy load with loose powder and then compare to pellets. One other thing, you don't need gobs of powder. A reasonable load that is very accurate is far preferable to a Warp9 Shazamalama killer that can't hit a barn from inside the horse stall.

Read the “ Stickies” at the top of this section. Oh welcome to the group. Good luck.

I have an Accura V2 and it will shoot most of the bullets you are likely to find. Since you want to start with pellets, just start with 2 - 50grain t7s and any 250 grain saboted bullet like a Hornady or TC. Get used to the loading, shooting, cleaning. Put witness marks on your ramrod and stay focused on what yer doin. Then when yer ready to try some new loads we all have suggestions and advice.
I hope you're getting a nitride Accura, that's the way to go imo. I also have Nikon scopes. Best midrange scopes imo. Welcome and good luck and have a great time!

:welcome: