General Patch Questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clevalley

Reaction score
I am amazed at the amount of information on this site... just in a day I have picked up a ton of tips. I do have a few questions;

Do people mainly cut their own patches or buy in bulk? Either way could you share your tips/place of purchase?

Spit patch - either wet it with saliva or windex/water and run it down the barrel and right back out correct? Just like running a patch from the breech end when you are cleaning but in reverse (from the muzzle).

Spit Patch - I have not done this, but how do I know when I have to do so? I hear some people say after every shot - others say after every 4 or 5... does it have to do with accuracy or the sabot not seating down on the powder charge due to powder crust from the 209 primer? or both?

TIA!!!

I'm still a newbie myself, but was taught to do a wet patch after every shot, and then follow it up with a dry patch. As for the patches I use, I buy them in bulk from like Bass Pro or Cabela's. -- Van

For INLINE RIFLES I use a 50/50 mix of isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol and car windshield washer fluid. I buy my patches in bulk from Wal Mart. $1.99 for a large bag of patches.

Lightly dampen a patch with the solution. Now with your loading jag on, push that patch into the barrel and work it back and fourth in 3-4 inch strokes. Work down the barrel to the muzzle. If you feel something is getting tight, slow down and work in even smaller strokes. When you get near the breech of the rifle you might have to scrub a little.

Now pull that patch up the barrel. Again work that in short strokes. Once out of the barrel turn it over and work the other side of the patch down the barrel in the same manner you did the first.