Help me identify my latest purchase

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bellicose

Reaction score
I found this at a gun show last weekend. I am new to flintlocks and need some info on it. It is smoothbore, 69 cal. The only markings on the entire thing is "69 cal". The whole muzzle loader is about 47inches long, the barrel being around 31 inches. The stock is two piece. I do not know if the barrel threads into the octagon section or not. So what do you think it is? Also, how much is it worth?

20160306_192447_zpsziolckuo.jpg

20160306_192453_zpsukzxy9ks.jpg

20160306_192459_zpsgkdj2mzi.jpg

20160306_192507_zpskxp4qtf1.jpg

20160306_192512_zpswjdt9row.jpg

20160306_192522_zpspq1neqwq.jpg

20160306_192537_zpsgreyshdx.jpg

20160306_193715_zpscspqzzzm.jpg

20160305_163317_zpsmovus6rx.jpg

Man, look a that patchbox. That is kinda neat looking. 

I found another .69 that looks an awful lot like this one. 
That auctioned on Gunauction for 274.00. There is not a lot 
of additional information there.

http://www.gunauction.com/buy/10224467

Ultra-Hi 68 Cal. Flintlock Trade Rifle- $230 Res.

You, sir, are a saint. I think that just might be it. End of the barrel looks a little different, but otherwise I think that is the one. Now...is the barrel two piece? Looks like it may be. Is that safe?

Most likely those bands are adornments called wedding bands.  The barrel is very unlikely to be a 2-piece barrel. Never heard of one .. ever.

I looked at the end of your barrel. I wondered if the brass had not been taken off of it? 
The wood follows that same shape...

Indeed, the brass is missing. I am going to try to find a replacement, though I don't know were to look. Also, I need to pick up a ramrod. Suggestions?

Patacazador, those are wedding bands.

... "Help me identify my latest purchase"...