I'm new to muzzleloading and I bought a .....

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lineman309

Reaction score
T/C Pro Hunter and a Nikon Omega BDC-250 scope...I'm leaning toward the T/C Shockwave 250 grain bullets...As far as powder I'm going w/ the pellets for now, but not sure if I should go w/ T7 or Pyrodex...It sounds like I would get better performance w/ Pyrodex?
As far as cleaning...should I get just dry patches or pre saturated patches? What about breech lube?
What should be on my list for the essential things I need to take care of my muzzleloader? By the way, Luv the site! I love archery and I'm very excited about muzzleloading...Help a new guy out...Thanks Troy

Welcome lineman. There are several here (probably more) who have a T/C Pro Hunter and all love it...Great choice. The T/C Shockwave/Hornady SST is an excellent shooting bullet and have taken a pile of deer. You can't go wrong with either powder but I have used triple se7en ffg with great results with the shockwave. At the beginning of this "New to Muzzleloading" section is a Sticky showing Tips and Hints. There are many items and preferred products listed. I personally purchase dry patches to use for either spit-patching between shots or cleaning up at the end of my range sessions. Good luck and give us a report on how you new gun shoots.

Lineman, welcome to the forum, man!
I'm leaning toward the T/C Shockwave 250 grain bullets...
Excellent choice!
As far as powder I'm going w/ the pellets for now, but not sure if I should go w/ T7 or Pyrodex...It sounds like I would get better performance w/ Pyrodex?
If you are using 3 pellets, the Pyrodex will give you a little more velocity, BUT are quite a bit nastier to clean up. I would stick with the Triple Se7en pellets.
As far as cleaning...should I get just dry patches or pre saturated patches?