Loading loose powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benamen

Reaction score
I am quite new at muzzleloading and currently using BH209 in my Triumph. Have you guys come up with a way of loading loose powder like BH that is quick and minimizes the chance of spilling any of the powder especially during a hunting situation?

Any suggestions appreicated.

Ben

You can always get a very small plastic funnel and carry it in your pocket.You can usually find them at hardware or grocery stores.

The tubes Lane sells are very convenient to carry pre-measured charges. Combine using the tubes with a small funnel and you should be good to go.

Traditions sells a nice little funnel made of brass (the one that is threaded to fit flasks) but it's a little pricey.

TC makes a 4in1 loader that should work pretty well, although the top cap on the older version of those could work loose if carried in a pocket.

i215467vr02.jpg

Looks like getting a funnel is the way to go. I have 40 of the tubes coming from Lane and they should be here in the next couple of weeks (I'm up in Canada).
Thanks for the tips.

I don't know about the tubes Lane sells so far as fit, but the ones we ordered over at HA looooong ago
fit nicely in shotgun shell boxes like this one
480684.jpg

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.e ... t=11082005

Don't know if Lane specified the length of those tubes but make sure any box you buy is deep enough. Very handy for the bench or just carrying extra loads in the vehicle/camp.

Hey benamen, if you're getting some of Lane's tubes I think you will find there's no need for a funnel. Its quite easy to avoid spilling when pouring powder from the tube to the barrel with the tubes.

good to hear that I can go without a funnel. The fewer steps to field loading the better for me. Looking forward to giving Lane's tubes a try.