My Accura shreds Barnes TEZ sabots

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shiner200gr

Reaction score
I started inline with an inexpensive 50 cal. CVA model, I don't remember which one. It dearly loved Barnes 250 TEZ bullets. When I graduated to a V2 stainless Accura, I continued with those bullets. All was going pretty well until I tried to speed up the load with larger powder loads and BH 209. Eventually, I arrived at 200 grains, which resulted in bad groups and mostly uncontrollable recoil. So, coming back to my senses, I have reduced powder loads incrementally trying to get some resemblance of accuracy. I'm down to 110 grains of BH 2F and finding that I'm still shredding sabots with the Barnes bullets. I love the way they load, but now I'm looking at trying to find sabots that will hold up and get back to reasonable accuracy. Any suggestions appreciated.

Yes, I lost my mind for a while, check out my forum name and you'll understand why it was only a while. Yes factory sabots that are supplied with the bullets.

We should say for the record that 120 grV is the max BH209 load recommended by Hodgdon.

You’ve got a couple other choices for sabots - Harvester or MMP. But, you really should have no problem shooting the Barnes supplied sabots with 110 grV, all else being equal.

When you say “shredding” - what do you mean exactly (any pics?)? Are they burnt, cracked, melted, petals missing? Guys can get saboted bullets to shoot up to 2500-2800+ fps with smokeless loads under the right conditions (modern sabot, cool barrel, smooth barrel, felt wad may help) which is significantly faster and hotter than you’re running with 110 grV.

Are you allowing the barrel to cool? Does your rifle have an unusually rough bore?

Let me say first, I don't exagerate period. I have nothing to gain by doing so.