Local Sand Pit Shut Down

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Idaholewis

Reaction score
Well the inevitable happened, The local Sand Pit (Shooting Pit) that i have been shooting at since i moved here 7 years ago is now Gated, Cement pillar anchored behind the Gate, And back a little farther they used a Back Hoe to Completely Destroy the Rd to insure no traffic, This place has been open to the public to shoot since the late 40s Early 50s i was told. I will definitely miss shooting there, it was a really convenient place located about 2 miles from my house. I can’t say as i blame them for shutting it down, i have been saying all along that it wouldn’t surprise me if they did due to People dumping their trash, Shooting TV’s up, Propane Cylinders, Washers and Dryers, etc. etc. (We have Dump sites all over up here, as a home owner you get 2 window stickers for 2 separate vehicles and can Dump your trash at MANY locations close by without charge) I moved here from the Wa Coast, that place was Amazing growing up as a kid, but i watched it change from a Great place, to a Horrible place, Before i moved Just About every Mountain Rd over there had been Gated off to the public with signs saying “No Motarized Vehicles of any kind” They even had Patrols behind the Gates on Dirt bikes, and 4wd Vehicles to catch people Trespassing (it’s a BIG BIG deal over there!!) Most of these Rd closures was due to Garbage being dumped in the Mountains, We moved here to North Idaho because this area reminded me very much of the Wa Coast back when i was little kid, But Sadly this place is right on the Heels of where we came from. People are their own worst enemies! I have tried explaining to some of these folks what I witnessed Growing up on the Wa Coast, but these people have never lived it, therefore they feel immune to it, that is until something like this happ