measuring black powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new to the muzzle loading brotherhood. I was looking little techniques such as tapping or shaking the measure or something like that. I never know so much that I can not learn another trick or two. I trying to find a way of getting a more accurate measure from load to load. Thanks to everyone who replied. This site has a lot of nice people.

Traditionall, black powder was measured by VOLUME.

More recently, some have started measuring using weight. I think this is mostly folks using Blackhorn 209, or smokeless muzzleloaders.

Call me a curmudgeon, but I don’t like to see this. I think it presents a grave danger for the newbie, or especially the uninformed!

when I pour into my volume measurer, I always tap it down. Then if I really want to go to the extreme as far as accuracy, I'll tap down several and weigh them and take the average weight and weigh each load.

Traditionall, black powder was measured by VOLUME.

More recently, some have started measuring using weight. I think this is mostly folks using Blackhorn 209, or smokeless muzzleloaders.

Call me a curmudgeon, but I don’t like to see this. I think it presents a grave danger for the newbie, or especially the uninformed!
Can't say that C word but you might qualify for uninformed as most if not all competitions are won with weighed charges no matter the powder . Mine is real black and you use whatever suits you but volume is quik but not accurate as every one of those charges vary more than the weighed charge given a quality powder . The difference is quite dramatic as yardage increases ,perhaps not traditional as you'd like but it gets the job done and better if accuracy counts !/Ed