New build

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shorty

NRA LIFE MEMBER
Supporting member
Reaction score
Hello all. I am not a grammer expert as you will see. First of all i want to say that my new muzzleloader build is not the cheapest way to go. I had an extra savage 110 tactical lying around, in a 6.5 creedmoor,this gun did not feed my 140 gr. Berger vld's from the clip to chamber very well. The gun did shoot excellent though, i managed to get three shot groups of a little over a .26 " @ 100yds.. I was searching for a build i could do myself. From buying bullets in the past from Precision rifle out of Canada, they advertised they had in stock, green mountain barrels for a build. After reading up on it i ordered a barrel, 24" 1 and 26" twist .50 cal., boltnose, and large rifle vari flame adapters. On another website i ordered a notched barrel nut, that fit my shank size, and wrench. After all the goodies arrived i proceded to follow the instructions and videos from precision rifle. I did not have a barrel vise, so i built one out of 2 blocks of oak., placed in my vise and dilled a 1" hole through them. I got all of my questions answered from reading on different forums. Used a pipe wrench to get the original smooth barrel nut off and threw it away. PR's web site and videos take you through all steps needed. I currently use 63 grs. Of relader 7, 300 gr. Accumax, harvester black crush rib sabot. Getting 1" groups at 100 yds.. still in load development. Figuring out moa's now.20210929_162021.jpg20211108_110205.jpg20210929_162021.jpg20211108_110205.jpg20210929_162021.jpg

Got a couple pics of your home made barrel vise? I have a SML that i would like to rebarrel some day but dont want to buy equipment that ill only use once.