New from Massachusetts

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

howieb

Reaction score
Hi! Currently awaiting a CVA Optima V2 to be delivered on Saturday. I'm 62 and this is my first year hunting. Starting with a bow, but also looking forward to "gun season" after Thanksgiving. I've been up in the tree, with a climbing tree stand, 5 times so far, and finally started seeing deer in the daytime my last time out. I'm not a fan of the climbing stand, and looking to get some sticks and leaving the stand up for the season. Anyway, I'm excited to get started with the muzzleloader.

I'm a bit of a reverse convert, generationally speaking. It's my son who turned me on to hunting, getting his first deer last year, and many ducks and other critters since. Unfortunately he lives in Idaho, so hunting together may not be a frequent endeavor.

-Howie

Welcome to MM and to the hunting world. Good choice for a first mzl. I've own several and have passed several down to other hunters. Good accuracy and dependability for the price point. What load are you shooting? I like a 250 barnes expander riding in a black harvester crush rib in front of 70 weighed grns of bh209 and a cci magnum primer. Really accurate. Before I shot blackhorn I used 2 50/60 777 magnums behind a 240 xtp and I took a lot of game. Deer and hogs. Keep that Optima clean and she will serve you well! Good luck from Florida!

Welcome Howie, from upstate n.y.. glad to hear you started hunting, its a sport that calmes the soul !! Its all about enjoying mother nature at its finest, and if your lucky some great table fare also. Go visit your son in season acoarse, while your bones can still handle it. Happy hunting and keep your powder dry.😉