New User Needs Advice On Range Cleaning

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

duurmeehr

Reaction score
I am new to muzzle loading and need some advice on range cleaning for sight in.

I have a CVA Optima V2 stainless barrel. I have been watching video's and they show running a squeezed out cleaning patch down the barrel a few times and then a dry one a few times between shots during sighting in. After this they are firing a primer once before loading and shooting the next shot.

I am assuming they are just trying to keep everything uniform from shot to shot and simulating a first shot of the day in the field conditions.

I am going to be using 777 pellets.

CVA video's don't show taking out the breech plug while doing this.

It seems to me that the cleaning patch is going to push all the debris down where the plug goes and not get out the barrel?

Can I get some advice on this please?

I am assuming they are just trying to keep everything uniform from shot to shot and simulating a first shot of the day in the field conditions.

There are other opinions but here is my $.02.

T7 will likely create a crud ring depending on your cap or primer.
For consistency I do a spit patch in between shots..
1. For your first shot snap a couple or 3 primers or caps and swab the barrel with a clean patch. And yes, I always point the barrel down so the crap can fall out of the barrel not down into the plug.

2. load, shoot

3. Now through a patch in your mouth and get it damp. Not wet but damp. Swab. If you feel a crud ring (resistance near the breach) stroke the patch back and forth over that spot until it goes away. That is until you dont feel it anymore. You may want to use a dry patch when done but I dont.

4. Swab the barrel pointing down

5. reload and shoot

repeat 3 between shots.