possibly changing to bh 209 several questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

g.g.

Reaction score
hey folks, new here...

currently shooting encore, 150 grains 777 and 250gr shockwaves. groups are ok, but not tight as I would like and am wanting to change things up with powder and possibly bullets

1. what would you suggest for starting powder grains/weight?

2. what sabot/bullet?

3. what do you use in the field or range for measuring and pouring your powder?

I am not very technical, so go easy on the terminology and pics and links are always a plus :lol:

have officially sold ALL centerfire rifles and barrels to go all ML or archery.

TC encore load

110 grain bh 209, 250 gr. shock wave, short black harvester sabot, win. 209 cap. Shoots 1 inch at 100 yds.... Good luck. What gun you shootin?
Wayles

Re: TC encore load

wayles said:
110 grain bh 209, 250 gr. shock wave, short black harvester sabot, win. 209 cap. Shoots 1 inch at 100 yds.... Good luck. What gun you shootin?
Wayles

I shoot an encore and have access to a triumph and omega.

the harvester sabot just replaces the sabot that comes with the shockwaves right?

Yes the short black Harvester sabot replaces whatever sabot you get with your SST or Shockwave bullets. If you check the forum you will find most are getting at least MOA with this combination. I have a Triumph and the first 3 shots I took with this combination gave me a 3/4" group at 100 yards.

g.g. -
I weigh my charges and put them in tubes. Cornsequently, I have an almost new TC U-View Powder measure #7222 and the original package. You can see that item at TCArms.com/store/accessories. WalMart has that item for $12. Tell me that you sent, or will send, $10 to saxman1 in Florida, and I'll send the item to you at no further cost.