Triple Seven ff versus fff accuracy in an Omega

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toolman

Reaction score
I have been using 777 in fff grains for two years now with mixed results in my .50 cal omega. I have tried 240 to 300 grain xtp's and shockwaves, but sometimes the groups at 100 yards are 3" to 5".

I am thinking if I switch to ff instead of fff, my accuracy may improve.

Has anyone found an improvement by using the coarser powder in their omega?

Thanks

ps. I am using a 3x9 Monarch scope

If you "Omega" groups are running 3" to 5" inches you have other issues and it is not the size of the grain of your 777 powder.

Your barrel may not be dry enough before you reload or your have not found the right bullet/sabot combination or you "QLA" in the rifle is not concentric which means the barrel needs replacing.

Chocdog

There are a lot of factors that could be coming in to play here.

How much powder by volu. are you useing , Is your OMEGA a synthetic stock or Lam. Dose your OMEGA have a QLA
some guys that have a synth. stock are having troubles with there guns POI and are having to inlay a block in there stocks to cure the probblem it helps float the barrle, pull your barrle and check the block that your bolt mounts in to hold your stock on, and make sure that it is not loose Check all yor screws on your scope base and rings . When you pull the barrle off look and see if there are marks on it were your stock is rubbing it.

3fg powder creates more barrle presure so if you are trying to shoot to much powder it will effect your shot accur. Whith 3fg of 777 try useing 75-80gr by volume to see how that does , and there again your gun may not like 3fg powder or triple 7 powder you may want to try REG PYRODEX RS.