blackhorn 209 vs triple 7

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob g

Reaction score
alright guys, i am relatively new to muzzle loading having taken about a 35 year leave of absence.

over the last couple of weeks i have been intensively wringing out a new t/c omega 50cal

i really like the gun, no problems with it, tight barrel bore as reported by many others, but all in all i really like it.

fitted it with a bushnell banner day to night 6-18 x 50 scope with t/c mounts... all is good so far

now over the last week or so i have shot just over 200 rounds using pyrodex rs, triple 7, and today this newfangled "all that and a bag of chips" blackhorn 209.

i use harvester crush rib sabot 50/45 and some of the easyloads too

i use hornady xtp from 240, 250, 300, and hornady 350 round nose (i forget the name) and some 405gr lead 45/70 projectiles

all but the 405's are .452 and the 405's are .458"

the pyrodex is as expected dirty stuff, requiring frequent cleaning, actually between every shot a swabbing at least. useable but not my favorite

the triple 7 is much cleaner, and easy to keep swabbed to acceptable standard over 25 or more rounds

so today i was really excited about trying the b/h 209... what a disappointment! hard to fire
as hell, if the barrel is clean, the breech plug clean, there is no firing the stuff, first is just a pop of the primer, wait, replace and then a pop... boom ( a full second delay) followed then by decent ignition, but it feels like maybe a few milliseconds of delay... barely noticeable but it definitely affects accuracy.

as advertised it works with subsequent loading being easier and not requiring a swab, but you still need a swab if you want accuracy!

then as the shots mounted the residue is like tar,