General Bullet/Sabot Questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donny123

Reaction score
I'm very new to the game, I have a total of around 20 shots out of my new Optima V2.

I reload pistol, rifle and shotgun so I'm automatically looking for components I can use to save money. I have some Hornady XTP 240gn in the green sabot and I also got a box of Hornady XTP 230grain and am shooting them in a black m&p sabot, both accurate. It has me asking what can't I put in the sabot, or can use without one. I have 230gn RN HiTek (powder coated) bullets, 230gn Copper Plated LRN, and some others.

So what are the do's and don'ts? Does it matter as long as it's the right diameter for the sabot and it's accurate? Need to be a certain hardness, below a certain velocity? Is a powder coated bullet ok? I know people like Power Belts but they are pricey and I'm actually liking the fact that with a sabot there is no direct lead or copper fouling. Do people shoot full size lead in these guns?

I will only be shooting paper and steel for the present and foreseeable future.

As long as the bullet is contained in the sabot I don't see much issue with lead, copper jacket, copper plate, powder coat and the sabot is coded for the bullet diameter. You might get issues from bullets that are too light weight-wise and may be too short to stabilize well. In your Optima you may find good results about 50-50 when using bullets and sabots in 40 cal and under....some people do ok , others don't seem to have much luck. That 240 XTP in the green sabot can be a super accurate combination in a 50 cal.