Blackhorn plug

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I beagle

Reaction score
Got a deal on a new cva optima. Want to shoot blackhorn out of this gun, I've never used it before. I know I have to get a new plug or alter the old one. Wanting to know what are the best options. Thanks

AS encore50a has alluded to, the Western plug kit is the way to go so you get everything you'll need to start shooting and maintain the new plug in an appropriate way. Its well worth the extr cost over other blackhorn plugs available which may or may not come with a wrench to seat the plug.

Hold onto the plug that came with your rifle and have someone do the conversion on it. The conversion will use vent liners which are an easy thing to order from Badgerridge.com. The vent liners will last significantly longer than a breech plug will and will cost about $6.50 to replace over the $25.00 [approx.] for a new plug.

Get the western plug to get shooting and then find someone to alter the original, best of both worlds. You'll go broke trying to wear out the four liner order from Badger Ridge. Your replacement 209 plug can be used as a back-up.

IMO Ron's mod to the OEM pellet plug is even better than the other options. If for no other reason than you replace the flash hole by replacing the vent liner. 2nd reason would be you have a larger flash channel, 5/32" vs a 1/8" for the BH209 plug.

I had Ron do mine. I also have the CVA BH plug I like the plug Ron did better. With the CVA plug I would get the occasional tight primer I haven't had any with Rons.I know it might just be me but my gun seems to shoot a little better groups with Rons.Depending on what models CVA does in 45 I might get one.The first thing I'll do is get ahold of Ron and have my plug done.