CVA Apex

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Featherman

Reaction score
Greetings, I'm a newbie to the site, stumbled across it last night and registered. Used to shoot a fair amount a few years back and let the hobby rest, currently have an Encore, White and custom made muzzle loader in the stable. I'm looking at purchasing another (not about need but about want, some will understand :D ) I'm looking at a used CVA Apex, do not know much about the gun, release date appears to be 2009-2010 but am not sure.

What are the pros and cons of the Apex? Is there a 209 breech plug conversion available?

And last, if I want to add to the stable am I better off waiting for CVA to release their bolt action?

Flame away boys...….

Thanks,

Welcome!

The first year 2009ish Apex's didn't have the QRBP, the second year 2010ish had a QRBP, but it had two games in the face of the breech plug. They were no Blackhorn Breech Plugs like those two designs.

All the later years 2011ish had a Blackhorn Breech Plug available.

Apex was a good rifle, but was discontinued in favor of the lighter and less expensive Scout V2.

The new bolt action should be a very nice rifle like the Bergara B-14.

Apex is a great rifle but you can no longer get barrels for it. CVA quit supporting it over a year ago. There might be a few barrels floating around or at BergaraUSA's website. The 45/70 barrels are highly sought after for converting to 45cal MLs.

Looks like they have a 3 barrels left and the ML barrel is super cheap http://shop.bergarausa.com/pc_combined_ ... F581B59902

If you want something very similar to the Apex, look at the Accura Mountain Rifle. Its a 50cal ML only and much lighter.