Dumb move and a real mess

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Reaction score
I have been shooting and hunting with a flintlock for many years. Right now is the flintlock deer season here in PA. The last several times I have been out I thought I was losing pan powder. I discovered the lock screw was just a little loose and tightened it up. Day before yesterday I decided to reaffirm zero and to shoot out the load that was in for a few days. The first shot was fine but I adjusted the sight a little and reloaded. This time I got a real surprise. I had lost a little powder and it was inside the lock. Well itignited. Nothing was harmed except maybe my pride. Boy did I have a mess to clean up. Tather than just taking the lock and trigger out of the rifle and blowing the powder out with a compressor I now had black powder residue all over the inside of the lock and trigger. Oh well it took only a few hours to clean it all up.

Lesson learned if you suspect you are losing powder from your pan look inside the rifle to be sure it did not sift down inside. If enough powder collects there disaster could result.

That's a good reminder, thanks. I like to put little beeswax or duct seal between the pan and the barrel to prevent "leakage".

There's a cartoon showing this in Chuck Dixon's book Building the Pennsylvania Longrifle.

That is real good information. I have one flintlock that loves to spit fowling behind the lock each time I shoot. I have been waxing the pan to stop it. It seems to work for me.