Flash pan powder 3f or 4f?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wildcat2

Reaction score
A friend and I were having a debate on flash pan size. Now neither one of us have a lot experience in flintlock shooting, him a hunter only and I have been a member in our local round ball club for only a couple of years , now he said only use 3f for it has a coating on it and make it superior to moister. I was taught to use 4f . Also 3f or 2f for the load?

I have been shooting flint locks for several years now. I use 4F at the range, but for hunting I prefer 3f in the pan. It doesn't attract as much moisture from the air, and it doesn't blow around as much. I cannot tell the difference in ignition speed. I use the 3f for hunting to reduce the amount of gear to carry. 3F for the load and for the pan.

In the "old days" I'm sure they only carried one kind of powder and loaded and primed with it. I think 4F will give you a bit faster ignition, however I usually hunt with 3F loaded and primed.
A delay or "hang" fire would/ could happen if your pan were dirty or the touch hole clogged and could happen with either 4F or 3F. These guns, (flintlocks) go off not from a "fused" effect between pan and main charge but rather from the heat of the burning powder in the pan going through the touch hole and igniting the main charge. Many people do not understand this and tend to over charge the pan which leads to fouling in the pan and touch hole. If the gun is built correctly, and the touch hole is centered at the top of the pan, it takes very little powder to set it off.
One thing, if you shoot at a match and prime with 3F make sure anyone standing to your right is well out of the way, otherwise they will get a "shower"!