Knight Mountaineer .50 verses T/C Encore .50

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnnhntr

Reaction score
I have been shooting traditional muzzleloaders for about 50 years and host the muzzleloader matches for my local club here in Colorado. I allow modern muzzleloaders in the matches as long as they are Colorado legal. I know almost nothing about the current generation of modern inlines, the closest I come is an H&R Huntsman in .58 caliber. Since I often help new shooters with their guns as part of the match I figure I should know more about the current generation of inlines than what I can read. To that end I am looking for a Colorado legal gun in .50 caliber since I may end up wanting to hunt with it myself. Based on my budget and the online research that I have done I have narrowed my choice down to the Knight Mountaineer .50 or the T/C Encore .50. I know they are very different guns. From those familiar with them, what have you found to be the advantages or disadvantages of each. Are there other rifles that I should consider in that general price range. Thanks in advance for the help.

I have both, the encore will be shorter,and have different barrel options, if getting the encore I highly recommend doing the bellm spring upgrade and hinge pin. mine is extremely accurate.the mountaineer is extremely accurate, it’s longer because of the bolt , if you can get one in your hands that would be great, the stock can feel bulky for some, I know it can be a reach to the trigger for some also.sorry but I love both of them,get both of them, you probably will at some point anyway, lol