less than max loads ... better accuracy?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

n8dawg6

Reaction score
just wanted to share my experiences here and see what everyone else's thoughts are. i have been reloading for several years now and have always worked on the assumption that i should use a powder which produces the lowest pressures while still providing max velocities for my handloads. i'll load a few at 10% less and work up just to be safe, then do all of my shooting for accuracy with max loads or within 1 g. or so of max.

a couple of things have happened recently which made me think that maybe a different approach could give better results from an accuracy standpoint. first, i have a 7x57 ruger m77 which i was convinced couldn't shoot at all ... until i tried some "weak" factory rounds in it. second, i did some shooting with a new .243 steyr prohunter and by far the best group of the day was with the starting load.

maybe everyone here already has figured this out, but it is news to me :grin:. it seems that less than max loads are consistently producing noticeably better accuracy in my rifles. i picked up some H4895 to try in a .270 and a .243 i own. H4895 doesn't produce max velocities in either cartridge, averaging 100 to 200 fps less at max pressure than say H414 or H4831. but it easily gave the best accuracy in the rifles i shot last monday. here are the details:

all targets shot at 100 yds.

rifle #1: old school remington sendero, .270 winchester. 4-12 leupold vx-1 scope. reloads all have mixed winchester/remington brass, cci and remington primers, and hornady 130 g. spirepoint bullets.

started out with near max load of 59.5 h4831sc. groups consistently looked like this:

sendero1.jpg