Load help, please

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wjspratley1

Reaction score
I have a Springfield hawken 50 cal 1 in 66 that I just started shooting this year, can't find lead round balls anywhere and have no clue what size to order or what kind, also no idea on patch size or bore lube?? Currently, I'm shooting 110 grains of 777 ffg and tc maxihunter in 350 grain, they come pre lubed, it's grouping well at 45 yards but it's beating the crap out of me!! And after all the research I've been doing most guys are shooting alot less powder and different powder?? It is a cap lock and I'm using #11 Magnum caps?? I don't want to be unsafe or more importantly waste powder, any help or somewhere to start would be appreciated!
Thanks
Wayne

Sent from my RCT6773W22B using Tapatalk

It's always a good idea to tell us what kind of game you're hunting. Your present load will kill anything up to a moose. Your gun is designed to shoot a PRB. (round ball) A .490 ball, .015 patch, and about 75gr of the powder you're using now will be good for deer.

Providing you don't want to take long shots. What's your location?

All the supplies you should need.

http://www.octobercountry.com/

I am hunting just your average garden variety white tail deer, I am located in the farm country here in central NY. I'd like to be able to reach out 100 yds or so bout as far as I can see. But most shots in the woods around here are under that unless your hunting farm fields.

Thanks muley, what kind of accuracy can I expect or should i expect?? I'm used to open sight center-fire rifles, whats acceptable from my set up?? Also should I hunt with a clean bore or fouled?? Oh by the way that website is awesome!! Think I want a custom liver eating Johnson .54 but I'll probably have to get a real job instead of being a woodsloafer though!!!