New shooter from CO

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Extractor

Reaction score
Hi all, new guy from Co. I am only new to ML rifles.
I have a BP revolver that I treasure. My friend asked me to go ML rifle hunting and I started searching for a ML rifle.
I am mainly interested in a T/C scout and a Rem 700 ML. I am wondering what all the pros and cons of each are.

- A

Welcome from NW Missouri. I too would like to have at Rem 700 ML. Something about them has always been attractive to me.

Welcome from NW Missouri. I too would like to have at Rem 700 ML. Something about them has always been attractive to me.
I heard a rumor they have to ship to an FFL ? Can anyone confirm or deny and make it muddier ?

Any muzzleloader than can be converted with ease to a cartridge gun via a barrel change require an FFL. The Remington 700 ML is one of these, along with the Traditions NitroFire Muzzleloader and several Thompson Centers. Here is the ATF Ruling (2005)

MUZZLE LOADING FIREARMS
We frequently receive questions concerning the sale of modern in-line muzzle loading rifles. Several years ago ATF determined that an in-line muzzle loading rifle using #209 shotgun primers for ignition was not an antique firearm and was subject to all provisions of the Gun Control Act (GCA). However, the GCA was amended in 1998 and many in-line muzzle loading rifles are now antique firearms and are excluded from the provisions of the GCA.
As defined in section 921(a)(16) of Title 18, U.S.C. the term “antique firearm” means –
(A) any firearm (including any firearm with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system) manufactured in or before 1898; or
(B)any replica of any firearm described in subparagraph (A) if such replica —