New TC Prohunter XT vs. FX

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QuietMan

Reaction score
Complete newbie on ML's...

I'm leaning toward the Pro Hunter XT to have the option of center fire in the furture and the fact that the rifle is designed to up to a 500 in the Katahdin rifle.

Has anyone had hands on with this ML?

I have yet to be able to put my hands on one to check it out, big box stores don't usually carry the Pro Hunter, at least not near me.

Thanks in advance

I have the ProHunter. I personally can't see the sense of buying the FX and losing the centerfire options.

I have not seen a FX yet i stores but here in NY both Gander Mountain and Bass Pro Shops usually have the Pro Hunter weather it be a XT model or Endevor model. It you want the option of the centerfire then you answered your own question. I personally would lean towards a FX model but I live in a slug only area of NY and have not use for a rifle but I love the way a Pro Hunter shoulders and handles, just not the price attached to it or the upgrades that need to be done to get them to shoot well. At least in my own opinion if you are going to drop the money for a complete T/C Pro Hunter it hasd better be good to go out of box. Now I say complete T/C because you can save a few hundred by buying a frame and stock off of the net and adding a Bergara barrel for half the cost of a T/C barrel and get a more accurate gun for less money.

If it was me, I would try a less $ model first.Just to see if you enjoy the sport.Might even want to check the used market out.Be carefull the muzzle loader bug bit me awhile back and now I am additcted.