New to me CVA Mountain Rifle

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hylander

Reaction score
So I just brought this home today from work.
50 Cal. CVA Mountian Rifle, 32" barrel, looks like about a 1:60 twist.
Needs some restoring but the bore is Excellent with no rust in it.
I have a couple of questions though.
Does anyone know what size the nipple is and what thread the cleanout screw is so I can order extras.
My plan is to make it look similar to this one that John did awhile back.
However I may try to Brown the barrel.
I am not very good at wood work or finishing but will try my best.
John I hope you don't mind me using the pic, if so please delete.

Attachments

• CVA Mountain Rifle.JPG
    CVA Mountain Rifle.JPG
    155.4 KB · Views: 33
Well if it comes out looking like that congratulation. Nice looking firearm in that photo. Congratulations either way.

Got it all torn apart today.
Removed all the surface rust from the metal parts and oiled them up good.
Cleaned up the lock and trigger group.
Also started sanding off the old Varnish finish, it is a thin coat and reshaping around the trigger group.

Don't know how you feel about the extra finger hook on the triggerguard. Most people seem to like it but personally, I don't and I ground it off my mountain rifle. Here's a picture to show what it would look like without the hook.

DSCF3299.JPG

Wow that rifle looks great.
Mine will be not looking anywhere near that nice.
I am not a good wood worker, so I decided to just clean it up good and remove the varnish.
I am putting a couple coats of stain on it and then tung oil.
It is hanging in the living room now drying from the first coat.

Thanks to RhinoDave for the nipple chart. I saved that baby.