Newbie needs suggestions and recommendations please!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davehaze

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to muzzleloading and have some questions and hope that you guys can offer some advice. I have ordered a Knight KRB7 50 caliber rolling block muzzleloader but I don't know what bullets or powder to use and what other accessories such as cleaning stuff is needed. I will be using it in Colorado so the bullets need to be lead conicals from what I gather and I want to hunt elk and mule deer with it so what size (grain weight) lead conical would ya'll suggest that would do the job? I would like to work up just one load that will work on either elk or deer. From reading here and there it seems there are different diameter 50 cal lead conicals which is a bit confusing. Also it seems that triple 7 loose powder is a favorite but there is a ffg and a fffg version which is also confusing to a newbie. What stuff cleaning kit wise do I need to keep the gun clean? Thanks for any advice and suggestions!

davehaze said: