No excuse bullets

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rlsmith

Reaction score
No excuse bullets does any one shoot these in their side locks. Just order some for my pedersoli traditional hawken the ones sized .503 is to big talked to Dave he said use .500 thoughts ?

Rlsmith said:
No excuse bullets does any one shoot these in their side locks. Just order some for my pedersoli traditional hawken the ones sized .503 is to big talked to Dave he said use .500 thoughts ?

I have no experience with these bullets. But Fit Really depends on your particular bore, I’m gonna bet the .500s will be loose unless your bore is .499? I have found 2s to work best for me, examples being for .45 Cal i like .452, For .50 Cal .502, and .54 Cal i like .542

What i did was take undersize sizer dies and slowly opened them til i got the fit i wanted. I found the perfect fit for me is the numbers i mention above. At .450 the bullets would literally free fall down my .45 bores, but at .452 they snugged up good and held nice n tight all the way to the powder, Same exact thing with .50 and .54 Cal, But again this all boils down to your Particular Bore

I have some at .503 they won't even start in the Pedersoli so that is why I ask Dave he is the one that said get the .500 because of Pedersoli tight bore.

Rlsmith said:
I have some at .503 they won't even start in the Pedersoli so that is why I ask Dave he is the one that said get the .500 because of Pedersoli tight bore.

Then you will probably be fine with the .500, I know it’s a VERY fine line, 1 thou makes a big difference. Personally i would get a cheap Lee .501 Sizer and run the .503s thru it, if your bore is .499 or .500 the .501s would load good

Rlsmith said:
Thank you for the reply. I would like to hunt with them