Smokeless for a beginner... good idea ??

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geraldbergeron

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am new to muzzleloading since a few weeks, when I bought a SM10-II.

I knew nothing about muzzleloading: Savage or black powder or any powder; I was an archer, crossbower, rifle-hunter.

At the beginning of November, I had an occasion to go to a muzzleloader deer hunt, for one week. So I began to ... and was told the best was a Savage SM10-II...

What a "shock"... IMO, quite a lot to learn for a beginner.

Happily, I found Smoleless forums and good "mentor". Or I would have sold my SM10-II.

But, what a job...

So... do you think Smokeless is a good way to begin in "smoke"...?

I am still wondering....

How were your "beginnings" ... ? ? ?

........................................................................Gerald.............../

Beginners

Gerald, I believe most people view smokeless muzzleloading with some trepidation at first,if you proceed slowly, follow directions, you will have no trouble!Once you become familiar with the routine, it will become old hat to you! Let nothing distract you, and you have no concerns!

Hi Gerald,

Tough question...

I would say the 10ML is fine..( if I remember correctly, I recommended the 10ML to you over at HA - and this site ) No matter what gun you chose, you would have had virtually the same learning curve.. Muzzleloading by nature is not a simple venture.. It is complex, tricky and takes time to perfect.

That challenge is what makes muzzleloading such a sport and passion. A centerfire is MUCH easier hunting tool to tame and shoot consistantly.

The 10ml, a set of lee dippers, a pound of 5744, a bag of MMP short sabots, and box 250 XTP's would be a great place to start..

In relation to any BP gun, you have many things in common: