Wheeler Engineering FAT Torque Wrench Screwdriver

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doohan

Reaction score
I have been using one of these inexpensive drivers now for a couple of months and find it to be adequate for scope rings, bases and action screws. As stated in many of the reviews, this unit is less than exact however it will get you in the ballpark.

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.e ... mid=718023

What are you all using??

You know I've NEVER used a torque wrench on a rifle/scope mounts/etc. I probably SHOULD...

Doohan,

Here are a few posts I made last May on this topic...

As a few of you may know I have been looking for a Torque driver for general gun work/maintenance. When I originally researched the options it was clear that I wanted to get a fully adjustable driver, despite the inherent higher cost. Of course I was shocked to see the prices of most of the available models (+/-200$). I decided that at this time I would simply look for a model that could cover the majority of my needs as opposed to looking for a full, or extended range model.

While it may not be all inclusive I felt that if I could find a model that covered a range from approximately 5-40 inch lbs it would fulfill virtually all of my needs. I eventually came across an interesting model on Eric Brooks CZ-452 page. Eric was selling a number of used model Utica TS-30 drivers. These drivers are fully adjustable and featured a 5-30 inch lbs range. Unfortunately, he had already sold out every unit upon their arrival.

Digging deeper into the Utica name I eventually came across the Utica TS-35. This model featured a 6-36 inch lbs range, however these models have a listed retail price over 200$. It quickly became apparent that as with many products these drivers could in fact be found for much cheaper prices from non-retail venues.