Why do people use pellets?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Half Fast

Reaction score
I am just curious as to why you use pellets (beside the convenience). I am in no way bashing pellets, I have used them myself. I am a 777 2f user. I am trying things I have never done before with muzzleloading, and thought I might learn something from this thread.

exactly the reason, they claim they don't spill in the wind. Neither do loose charges in speed loaders. Nothing wrong with pellets though, if they work for you and you dont mind the extra cost, use 'em.

My thought was that it would be difficult to find the most accurate load in your gun with pellets. Hard to ladder test in 30 grain increments. But I am open to learning stuff.

No way of finding a rifles sweet spot using pellets and like Pete said just laziness .

I've hunted with pellets in the past successfully... but use loose powder exclusively now for several reason.  For one, group sizes on the shooting range will shrink using lose powder vs. pellets.  

There is one big CON I have with using pellets.  When hunting I usually keep a charge in the rifle all season, and will shove a ramrod down the barrel every so often to make sure my bullet hasn't shifted and remains firmly seated against the powder charge.   It you use pellets they are susceptible to chipping or cracking, and agressive ramrod  use can fragment the pellet and there goes your accuracy.

It is out of convenience IMO. I live in a small town an hour away from anything else and there isn't even a gun store in town. You can almost always find pellets at a Walmart or other such stores. You won't find BH 209 or loose powder at near as many places. Also, a lot of new ML shooters (such as myself) are drawn to the simplicity of pellets.