LRX Accuracy improvement

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm relatively new to muzzleloaders and hoping to find an answer to my accuracy problem here. I'm shooting my .50 cal CVA LRX at 200 yards and have a bit of separation vertically in the grouping - my spread is about 3" left to right but about 7-8" vertically. Shooting from a lead sled because I am just trying to optimize my load.

Load workup: 76 gr by weight BH 209, Federal 209A primers, 300 gr saboted bullets.

I had the same issue with 78 gr BH at 100 yds. Using 75-78gr BH I am shooting 1-1.25" groups at 100yds, hotter loads the pattern starts to open up so I have not tried them at 200 yds. I'm going to try 72 and 74 gr next but not sure if dropping the velocity will help stabilize the bullets at that range. Wish the LRX had a faster twist, have not been impressed with it for the price point.