Newbie Scope Question

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doglvrdexter

Reaction score
Hello All...I am very new to the muzzleloader game and this is my first post on this forum. Hope I didn't mess up (again) as I sent a message awhile ago but it didn't appear to show up on the posts. Anywho, here goes. Just purchased my very first muzzleloader - a CVA Optima Pro. For what little I know, I like it a lot but admittedly haven't fired it a lot yet. I am from Kansas which has an early muzzleloader season in Spetember. Non-magnifying scopes are allowed - no power scopes and no lasers. Was wondering if any of you all had experience with red dot scopes. As I am a complete rookie here, any advice is welcome. Thanks!!!

red dot scopes not for me

I have tried the red dot scopes, In fact I still have one. I personally don't care for them, but to each his own. If its the law I guess a person will get use to it. I could never stay on target with it on my sks. Never used it on a muzzleloader before I'm brand new to this myself, but I have no use for it. To my knowledge there is no scope restriction here.

I've used them on pistols and slug guns. They worked for me at the time I used them. I would think that would be a good alternative for you in your situation.

Nebraska too has the same 1X law that kansas has.

By all means IF you can afford it I HIGHLY reccommend purchasing an Aimpoint Red-dot. They are pricey, but miles above the competition.

If that is too expensive, you might give Millett a try. I have never looked through one of thier red-dots, BUT they are they only other red-dot I know that advertises to be totally parralax free. In other words, you do not have to center the red-dot.