240 gr bullet for elkl?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WA. Smoke

Reaction score
Hey guys, newbie here, but not to frontstuffing.

I've recently switched from using a 295gr Power Belt to a sabot from precision's Dead Center line up in 300gr bullet. I have plenty of faith in a 300gr bullet on elk. But who's killed with lighter weights???

The Dead cnter is supposed to be one heck of a penetrator!!!! I like two holes in elk! I'll have to shoot them but I'm wondering if I can extend my range and still rely on the Dead Center to pound elk with a 240 gr bullet?

Put this in the wrong forum my first try. :)

First off.. I have no experience with elk and sabots. Still to me, 240 grain seems a little light weight. Not that it might not work, but I personally would go a little larger.

This is an interesting question.

Used a 224grain Round Ball on my elk last week. She only went 60 yards after the 140 yard shot.

With a round ball you dont have to worry about it fragmenting like a HP bullet.

I've killed lots of moose and elk with 250 grain SST. Plenty of bullet.

http://www.prbullet.com/pts.htm

Here's a link to my new ammo. I've hammered a hand full of elk with 295gr Power Belts. The elk are dead... But they mushroom to the size of a quarter and all have rested against the hide on broadside shoots. Hunt and live the "southwetside" in washington. Thick brush and lots of rain. I need more blood.

Using 110 grs of 777 my max yardage is a 14" drop at 150yds. I'd love to extend that to at least 175yds. I think the 240 grs will get me there.

I'm very impressed with the accuracy and they load darn easy for a sabot.

I lost aceptable accuracy with the Powerbelts when I switched to 777 from pryodex rs select.