Knight KRB7 powder questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whitetailer

Reaction score
Hey guys...newbie here.

I have a KRB7 that after some trial and error I found that T7 pellets along with Win T7 primers was the best for my gun...it does not create that crud ring as bad and I can now shoot 4-5 rounds if I wanted without spit patching.

I want to move to powder and like what I have read about BH209...but reading here It seems that its not a good choice for my gun...I was told that I could mill out my breech plug to .035 to get a good burn with normal shotgun 209's...but I dont want to kill myself either.

I want to use powder to better control my loads for consistancy...what say you all?

The easiest way is to switch to T7 loose and go from there. Since you are not having a crud ring issue then T7 loose might even be a bit better than pellets. I wouldnt mind needing to swab every 5 shots or so either.

You can go the route of modding the breach plug for better BH209 reliability but the reviews are still a bit mixed on that breach plug. It works fine for some and others still get an occasional hang fire.

Next year i plan on more T7 loose testing to save my "black gold". Ive been using MX Bore Conditioner and they are all well "broke in" now plus "JB"ed. Im hoping my past crud ring issues wont be as bad now. My old ThunderHawk did very well with it last time out and it is well "seasoned" so just maybe......

In my experience with my KRB, I got noticibly less crud ring and improved accuracy when I switched from T7 pellets to lose T7 fff....