Load for Youngster

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CVAWOLF

Reaction score
Hi I am new to muzzleloading and I will be bringing my stepson deer hunting next year and would like to know what bullet weight/powder charge to use for him.

He will be using a CVA Wolf with open sights we will be shooting maximum of 50 yards.

I currently have triple 7 pellets 50 grain and powerbelt 245 gr hollow points.

any recommendations so he won't get gun shy from recoil?

Thanks for any recommendations.

My friend two years ago bought her son a New Frontier Beartooth Magnum which is the CVA Wolf in sheep's clothing is all. She asked me to help him work up a light recoil load so he could hunt.

I got the rifle shooting 85 grains of Triple Se7en and a 245 grain Powerbelt Aerotip. It shot excellent. It also shot the 240 XTP's with the same powder charge. He said it did not kick at all, but he was excited to shoot his muzzleloader.

He shot a nice doe with the Powerbelt and dropped it where it stood. The doe was only about 30 yards away, but the load worked perfect.

Thanks for the info I will get to the range in the spring with him and start with the load you recommended.

CVAWolf,

I started my wife off with a T/C Omega X7 shooting 70 grains of loose H777 and the Duplex Dead Center .357/175 grain bullet in their .50 sabots. The weight of the bullet is a large component of recoil, so starting at the light end helpls. She likes to shoot it, and we were out this morning looking for a deer to plunk.

jim

I certainly look at bullets with a weight of around 200gr, certainly nothing heavier. A 200gr .40cal XTP in a blue mmp 40/50 sabot IS the way I'd go. I'd use that with 60-80gr loose Triple Se7en. I know that works!