? on powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CoyoteHunter

Reaction score
Is 100 grains ffg of reguler blackpowder the same as 100 grains ffg of triple 7.I was told that the triple 7 doesn't burn as hot and would have to use 20 to 25 grains more to get the same afect reguler blackpowder.

Joe

Coyotehunter

That is wrong.

With triple 7 you will want to REDUCE your powder charge by 15% to get the same charge as BP or Pyrodex.

85gr of 777 is like shooting 100gr of Black Powder or Pyrodex

100gr of 777 is like shooting 115gr of black powder or Pyrodex

Lungbuster is correct, if you reverse that the way you had it, it could be dangerous.

Thanks for the help guys
I'm new to muzzleloaders and I figure the only dumb question it the one that is not asked

Joe

YOU ARE 100% RIGHT ON THAT ONE!!!!! :yeah:

I Feel BAD I did not give you a warm & fuzzy welcome yet.

BUT I would Like to give you a Great big HOWDY and WECOME to the forum, You will talk to some of the greatest fellers here that you will ever meet. We will help in any way we can and to make your ML adventure as fun and safe as POSSABLE for you

LB1
Ron G.

If you had not asked the question your rifle would most certainly would have handled the pressure. But doubtful you could have handled the recoil
or would want to again. :D :D

Chocdog

choc-dog said:
If you had not asked the question your rifle would most certainly would have handled the pressure. But doubtful you could have handled the recoil
or would want to again. :D :D

Chocdog

The recoil is not a big thing to me I have 2 50 BMG's and shoot them alot my dad and I went togather 12 years ago and bought the old hunt club after it closed its 1150 acres an me and a buddy made the 500 yard range into 1000 yards with a big dirt birm to shoot into. thats where my family an I hunt,camp and fish at