Opinions Wanted - Terminal Performance

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all - I know I've been asking a TON of questions about this stuff...and maybe some range time this weekend will help me resolve some of my own questions. But, for now... For shots UNDER 50 yards...percussion sidelock, 1:48... EVEN if a Hornady XTP 240 grain with sabot flies straight out of the barrel...for terminal performance, best probability of an exit wound, no/little tracking... would you use the saboted round of a heavy - 358 grain Hornady Great Plains or something similar?

I am not an expert in physics at all...I am trying to understand what bullet is best for what situation...is the benefit of a smaller/lighter bullet nestled in a sabot one of accuracy at range...so like, with my CVA Wolf .50 cal, with a scope...I'd do better on a 150 yard shot with a .45 cal bullet in a sabot that fits my .50 cal bore because it will have more accuracy and energy than a solid chunk of lead at the same distance?

Asking because I hunt two different places. In one, shots are under 50 yards, guaranteed...and having the animal drop in its tracks is very valuable because of not wanting to have leave my property lines. In the second hunting spot, shots of 100 yards or more are possible.

Instead of dragging guns back and forth, I am thinking of using the sidelock Deerhunter for both "regular" muzzleloader and primitive on the sub-50 yard property (with whatever bullet/load works best at that range) and the CVA Wolf at the other, with whatever bullet/load works best for ranges of 50-150 yards.

Big slow heavy piece of lead up close and personal. Like hitting them with a sledgehammer. Although a nice head shot with a sabot/bullet can be just as effective. Practice, practice, practice. Then practice some more. Hit what youre aiming for.