Smokeless barrels and prefits

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Guys, so ive gotten into a hankins prefit .45 cal recently and I am new to sml. I've been reading here and other places about safe loads... heavier built rifles can take larger loads than prefits/breakactions. But my question is this, how are loads deemed safe? How are the barrels tested to show they can handle x amount of pressure?

From the reading I've done, many barrel makers test rarely, if at all. They certainly don't test every barrel.

My hope is that someone tested barrels with various dimensions and made from various materials, and all others are at least following the leader (mimicry).

I don't know what PSI my barrel is 'rated for' aside from the builder saying that the savage 10ML and 10ML-ii recipes are safe. Did he test that? Unlikely... but I can approximate the peak pressures of those loads in the 10ML and use them as a pressure benchmark.

From there, I can use QuickLoad and/or Gordon's Reloading Tool to estimate pressures for various loads. This is something I'm trying to learn right now. Specifically I'm exploring GRT right now (free is appealing?).

With estimated loads derived, I can back them down a bit and shoot them...observing pressure as I slowly increase the charge weight. Right now I can only observe pressure by looking at the primers in the AGS gen 2 modules, or the powder-facing cup of sabots I recover. This method is imprecise at best, and dangerous at worst. A better way would be to measure the pressure with something like PressureTrace II.

In the absence of officially published load data, many people seem to be making educated guesses. That makes me uncomfortable, and it's the reasons I haven't tried a load of 3031 with a 385gr full bore lead bullet yet...I'm not confident in the load data.