.45 vs. .50 the better choice

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adrexco

Reaction score
Hi All,
Newbie here looking into buying a new muzzle loader for a hunt I booked in Ohio where only ML or shotgun is allowed. I've decided that ML will be what I use. So now I'm in for a crash course in ML

I see that 50 cal using 45 (or 44) cal bullets seems to be the most popular. What are the advantages and disadvantages with a 45 cal barrel using 40 cal bullets?

Thanks for comments on your experience!

While the .50 cal is the most popular, there is nothing the .45 can't kill on this continent. You can shoot lightweight .40 caliber bullets in sabots or you can shoot the same bullets the .50 caliber guys use when they use sabots. This gives a lighter recoiling load that will take deer just fine and be easier on the shooter.

You can shoot .45 caliber bullets (SST, Shockwave, Barnes, etc) in the .45 caliber with out a sabot. You may have to size down or knurl the bullets up to get the proper fit in your barrel but a 300 gr SST shot naked from a .45 caliber gun is just as deadly as one that rides in a sabot in a .50 caliber.

I am building a pair of high performance long range muzzleloaders. My goal is 500 yards with enough energy to kill big bull elk while shooting BH209. Each of these guns have .45 caliber barrels. One is .451" and the other is .458".

My hunting ML so far has been a .50 cal Omega with a 300 gr SST with 120 gr by volume 85 gr by weight of BH209. I can accurately shoot 300 yards with this combination although the energy runs a big short for elk.

I have to admit, I've always been a 50 cal fan. That is until this Winter, I've been bit hard by the 45 cal bug. For most practical reasons, either is fine. Most common supplies are for the 50, which may be an issue.