Omega very hard to load

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stiffwindpsr

Reaction score
Hey guys,I'm new here although I've been shooting smokepoles for 15 yrs.I just got a black/blued omega and it's a bear to load even with a clean barrel.After one shot it's almost impossible to load a follow up in the woods.I'm shooting 2 777 pellets 777 primers and I've tried 240gr pr's,250 shockwaves black & yellow,and 220 barnes expanders.They're all equally hard to load.Crud ring is awful after 1 shot.Is this normal?My remington ml loads much easier with hardly any crud ring.Will this get better over time?Any suggestions?

For the crud ring I'd use the 25 ACP conversion from PR bullets. Swab between shots too.

As to loading, try MMP's 3 petal EZ sabot.

http://mmpsabots.com/

It's midway down the second table.
3Petal-EZ
50 X 451/452

Good luck using Tripple Seven in your Omega. Some will shoot that crap but some will not. Mine is one of the ones that will not shoot it even with the .25ACP conversion. Swab between shots with mine only works if you use a brass brush. A wet swab just does not take the crud ring out. I tried all three breechplugs and every primer I could round up trying to use 777 and finally gave up and settled with Black Mag'3. Of course it is not available again probably until after the first of the year. I would try some American Pioneer or Pinnacle or just go back to Pyrodex which does work well in my Omega just a little dirty.