Load Deveopment

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm just wanting to verify my starting load development with more knowledgeable guys than myself. This is my first try at muzzleloading.
Rifle is Knight Ultra-lite .50 caliber.

Primer is Federal 209A
Hodgdon Triple 7 (FFFG)
No Excuses 420 grain &
Thor 300 gr.
Starting load is 68 grains by weight, going to 105 grains by weight, by 5 grain increments. All loads are +/- .02

Your thoughts?

I'm just wanting to verify my starting load development with more knowledgeable guys than myself. This is my first try at muzzleloading.
Rifle is Knight Ultra-lite .50 caliber.

Primer is Federal 209A
Hodgdon Triple 7 (FFFG)
No Excuses 420 grain &
Thor 300 gr.
Starting load is 68 grains by weight, going to 105 grains by weight, by 5 grain increments. All loads are +/- .02

Your thoughts?
Is that gun rated for more than 84g W BH209? Read your owners manual for max charges in your gun. NEVER - GUESS

I wouldn’t shoot 105 grs weight of 3F 777 and 420 grs bullets out of an ultralight,if you paid me $50 a shot.

Hot damn I'm laughing at that comment.

I just raised my charge of IMR 4198 from 56 grains to 56.5 shooting the 225 grain, .40 Fury bullets out of the Patriot. Its not real cold here yet so I was wearing a sweatshirt but will hold off shooting at that level or the 57 grains I want to shoot until I have to wear a heavier coat. And I'll need a better pair of ear muffs. lol Think 1/2 grain of smokeless doesn't make a difference? Think again.