Pouring a Pewter Nose cap

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hilljack1

Reaction score
of the 
Well here we go on the process for pouring a nose cap....First draw the outline of the cap, the more simple the design the better the effect.... 

110.jpg

Carefully back cut into the stock and remove the wood....this will give a shoulder for the pewter to rest against...
210.jpg

Make sure your design and cuts are the same in shape and depth of cut....on both sides of the barrel 
310.jpg

These cuts will be worked down to about 1/8" to make sure there is enough material to shape it down to the desired dimensions..I am still learning how to use the program so it will be broken up...

Sorry to break this up like this but it is the only way I know at the moment....After you make the back cut be careful not to damage the edge this will be the outcome once you pour the cap....Begin removing the wood to the back cut down to about 1/8" and cut the tip back about 1/4" from the end...Then take a drill of about 1/8" and drill holes in the end....these act as anchors and hold it in place
412.jpg

511.jpg

611.jpg

710.jpg

Most critical part in that you have to make sure the cardboard makes a form that is close to the stock and the seam line between the stock and barrel is well sealed, if not you will have drooling down the barrel for a nice mess...Also if you have a gap between the barrel and stock , this needs to be plugged with paper or even steel wool to prevent intrusion into one of the pins that hold the barrel in....and that can be a big problem...Also you need to close the muzzle because it is really easy to pour pewter  down the barrel.... 
612.jpg

712.jpg

811.jpg

911.jpg