Thompson Center or CVA ??

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

35Whelan

Reaction score
Looking to upgrade from my Thompson Hawkens to a modern inline muzzle loader.. Currently I've narrowed it down to either a Thompson Pro Hunter FX or a CVA Accura V2. So I'd appreciate it, if I could get some pro's and con's about the two. Seem's I read a lot about issues with the CVA's about blow back through the breech plug area. Does this happen with the Thompsons also? Seems over the years that CVA would correct this problem.
Another factor in making my decision is: How much does barrel length affect accuracy in these guns? Thank's in advance for any info...

I've been using encore muzzleloader since 1998 and have 0 problems with them. They are great shooting rifles don't know why so many people knock them.

I've thought highly of TC, but did some research online comparing CVA M-L's. The CVA's seemed to rate very well, above TC from many.

A friend has a Pro-Hunter in 50 cal that he is very happy with. I'm thinking either could satisfy your needs, once set up with effective loads.

If you are considering the Pro Hunter FX, i would suggest you look into buying a Pro Hunter/Encore frame and barrel separately. You will save a little bit of money and have a better rifle than the FX. There a few companies that offer ML barrels for the PH/Encore platform. Some are extremely nice match grade barrels. Bergara even sells a inexpensive ML barrel for them.

Go for the CVA Accura with nitrided barrel. I have shot the Encore and the Accura MR nitrided barrel. The Accura just fit me better. Both are great muzzleloaders, but you get more for you money with the Accura.

Cattledog said: